Retailer Take Back

About California’s Retailer Take Back Program


Retailers in California are required by law to offer no-charge take-back of a customer’s used mattress and/or box spring when the sold mattress and/or box spring is delivered. (Beginning Jan. 1, 2021 this applies to ALL retailers. Previously those using a common carrier for delivery were exempt. Click here for updates to California law.)

Recognizing that pick up is a new requirement for many online mattress sellers and others that were previously exempt, MRC has developed tools to assist with compliance. View our webinar, “California Mattress Recycling: What Retailers Need to Know,” for information on changes to the law, retailer obligations and resources. MRC has also provided answers to frequently asked questions about the law update.

Resources to Assist with Compliance


MRC’s Commercial Volume Program offers a solution for retailers that collect at least 100 used mattresses or box springs. Participants receive a permanent trailer and transportation for recycling at no cost. 

Companies that offer delivery through common carriers can coordinate with waste haulers or other parties to pick up old units from consumers within 30 days and deliver those units to any participating Bye Bye Mattress collection site, recycler or other location statewide. Find the sites nearest to you on the locator at ByeByeMattress.com.

MRC has compiled a list of third-party contractors and transporters that may be able to assist retailers with meeting the new pick up obligations. This list is provided as a service, may not be comprehensive and does not represent endorsement by MRC.

Questions?


If you still have questions about your obligations in the state of California under the Used Mattress Recovery and Recycling Act, we are here to help. Contact our customer service department any time by email or phone (855-229-1691). Thank you for your support of mattress recycling in California.

From the Act


Article 7. Retailer Used Mattress Take-back 42992. (Links to the applicable California state law and regulations can also be found here.)

(a) Except as provided in subdivision (d), on and after July 1, 2014, a retailer shall offer a consumer the option to have a used mattress picked up for recovery at the time of delivery, at no additional cost to the consumer, if a new mattress is delivered to the consumer.

(b) A retailer may contract out to a third party for the delivery of a new mattress or pick up of a used mattress.

(c) A retailer is not prohibited from charging the consumer for the cost of the delivery of a new mattress.

(d) A retailer or third-party contractor delivering a new mattress may refuse to pick up a used mattress from a consumer if the retailer or contractor determines the used mattress is contaminated and poses a risk to personnel, new products, or equipment.

(e) A common carrier delivering a new mattress to a consumer as a result of an online purchase is not required to pick up a used mattress for recovery. (Invalidated by changes written into AB 187.)

(f) On and after January 1, 2021, if a new mattress is delivered to a consumer by common carrier, including, but not limited to, as a result of an online purchase, the retailer of that mattress shall offer to arrange to pick up a used mattress for recycling from that consumer within 30 days of the delivery of the new mattress, subject to subdivision (d).

Addition of futons to the program from AB 187:

Section 42986

(2) “Mattress” includes a foundation, a renovated mattress or renovated foundation and a futon mattress.